Books & Movies: Anne of Green Gables Wedding Inspiration *Special Post*

To my joy, yesterday Green Shoes Weddings posted a FABULOUS Anne of Green Gables Wedding Inspiration which I find hilarious because I’d been planning on creating the same wedding theme for today’s Books & Movies post. Great minds think alike!

Anne Shirley of the Anne of Green Gables book and movie(s) is particularly special to me because the movies were created in 1985–the year I was born.  You could say I was raised with her.  By the time I reached high school, I would read the entire series every summer just for the heck of it. I once got in trouble for reading too much [is this possible??] and–you guessed it–I was reading one of the “Anne books”. My favourites from the series are Anne’s House of Dreams, Rainbow Valley, and Rilla of Ingleside; all of which deal with her family life after marrying her great love, Gilbert Blythe a.k.a. “Gil”.

To make this post extra special, we’ve got some of my favourite quotes from the Anne of Green Gables and Anne of Avonlea movies!

“Green Gables–yonder.”

“May I call you ‘Aunt Marilla’?”

Anne and Di beating Charlie Sloan and Gil at the 3-legged race.

“Pssst!  Carrots!  CARROTS!!” *commences slate-breaking over Gil’s head*

“He promised me it would turn my hair a beautiful raven black!”

“Who?”

“The peddler we met on the road today!” *cue tears*

“Regal my eye! You’re dripping dirty water all over my clean floor!”

“Puffed sleeves.”

“The puffiest in the world!”

“I bet you couldn’t get Gilbert Blythe to dance with you!”

“There she weaves by night and day, a magic web with colours gay. She has heard a whisper say, a curse is on her if she stay to look down to Camelot. She knows not what the curse may be, and so she weaveth steadily, and little other care hath she, the Lady of Shalott,” (Alfred Llloyd Tennyson).

“C-H-R-Y-S-A-N-T-H-E-M-U-M!”

(Yes, this movie taught me how to spell “chrysanthemum”.)

“You know something, Diana? We are rich. We have sixteen years to our credit, and we both have wonderful imaginations. We should be as happy as queens. Look at that! You couldn’t enjoy it’s loveliness anymore if you had ropes of diamonds….I’m content with my string of pearls. Matthew gave them to me with as much love as ever went into any of those stuffy women’s jewels. I am happy Diana, and nothing is going to hold me back”.

“Carrots.”

“Oh, Anne—I’m so nervous—I can’t go through with it—Anne, I know I’m going to faint.”

“If you do I’ll drag you down to the rain-water hogshead and drop you in,” said Diana’s loving Aunt Jo.

“Well, how sweet of you, Moody, to ask Josie to the wedding. You know, I was afraid you mightn’t have been invited.”

“Isn’t she precious, Moody? You wore that sweet old dress to Fanny Emerson’s wedding last year, though, didn’t you, Anne? You know what they say, ‘Twice a bridesmaid, never a bride.'”

“That’s three times a bridesmaid, not twice, Josie. But then you’re so fortunate; the only thing you’ve ever had to wear twice is a sour expression.”

“I hope you get your diamond sunbursts and marble halls, Anne.”

(How could you NOT be in love with the dashing young medical student??)

“I don’t want diamond sunbursts or marble halls, Gil.  I just want YOU!”

For the entire list of Books & Movies series, read below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Please enjoy this awesome slideshow as well as our Anne of Green Gables wedding theme board!

Previous Post: “Books & Movies: Northanger Abbey Wedding Inspiration

6 thoughts on “Books & Movies: Anne of Green Gables Wedding Inspiration *Special Post*

  1. Pingback: Books & Movies: The Scarlet Pimpernel Wedding Inspiration « DA Weddings

  2. Pingback: Books & Movies: Phantom of the Opera Wedding Inspiration « DA Weddings

  3. Pingback: Arthurian Wedding Inspiration « DA Weddings

Leave a Reply

