Marry Month of May Wedding Theme

Today’s blog post is borrowed from an earlier guest post I did for Bloomed to Last by blogger Kristi Richardson entitled “The Bridesmaid Luncheon“.

“Marry Month of May” is a play on words from the original poem by Thomas Dekker, “Merry Month of May”.

O the month of May, the merry month of May,

So frolic, so gay, and so green, so green, so green!

O, and then did I unto my true love say,

Sweet Peg, thou shalt be my Summer’s Queen.

 

Now the nightingale, the pretty nightingale,

The sweetest singer in all the forest quire,

Entreats thee, sweet Peggy, to hear thy true love’s tale:

Lo, yonder she sitteth, her breast against a brier.

 

But O, I spy the cuckoo, the cuckoo, the cuckoo;

See where she sitteth; come away, my joy

Come away, I prithee, I do not like the cuckoo

Should sing where my Peggy and I kiss and toy.

 

O, the month of May, the merry month of May,

So frolic, so gay, and so green, so green, so green;

And then I did unto my true love say,

Sweet Peg, thou shalt be my Summer’s Queen.

I’ve created an exciting wedding theme based off of this that I hope you all will consider for your own nuptials.  And seeing as tomorrow is the first day of May a.k.a. “May Day”, I thought this would be appropriate and festive.

Enjoy!

See also “The Bridesmaid Luncheon: The Overlooked Celebration

Leave a Reply

